Homemade Mason Jar Cups

So, I know these are a big thing right now, so I decided to make some. I had some Classico alfredo sauce jars, which I decided to use. I love these jars, because they are actual mason jars and another bonus is the product inside the jar is really delicious! Or, maybe the mason jar is the bonus…. Either way the whole package is good!!

For Christmas my parents got me a Pioneer Woman mason jar glass, which I absolutely love!! Here is a picture of a set of them. Image result for pioneer woman mason jar with handleAren’t they, so awesome! You can also, get extra lids with cool prints, which my parents also got me!! I love the Pioneer Woman (a.k.a. Mrs. Drummond)! I love her products and her show!! #pioneerwomanlove

 

Anyways, besides my love for all of that, I made some of my own jars. Although they may not be as awesome, they still are something to DIY and it is really close to free! So, let me get started!

 

Supplies Needed:

– 1 Mason jar from a Classico sauce, or a regular Mason jar

 

-A screwdriver, or a screw-gun

– Scissors, or something sharp

– A piece of sandpaper, or food safe paint

– A straw

The way it was made:

1. Start by ripping off as much of the label as you can (don’t worry, it doesn’t have to be perfect!!)dsc01604

2. Let the jar soak in water for 30 seconds – 1 minute or run it under water until the paper label is thoroughly soaked. After that rub off the paper with your finger. There will still be glue left, so rub it off with a cloth. Also, to get the expiration labels off, just scratch them off with scissors, or something sharp.

2.  I put a hole in the center of the lid for the straw, I used a screwdriver, but I think a screw-gun would have been much better! Make sure you are using a bit that will work for your straw size. I then flipped the lid over and pushed down the excess metal. Again I think a screw gun would be better, so you don’t have much excess metal!

3. Okay, so there is obviously writing ALL OVER this lid! So, to get this off I think a gritty sandpaper would do the trick. I did not have any, so I used the end of the screwdriver and the end of a metal hair clip! If you don’t have the supplies you might have to get creative and find something that would work, like I did! Another option that could save the hassle of scratching the lettering off is food-safe paint. I haven’t tried it, but I think it would work well and possibly better! Also, be careful if you decide to sand or scratch the lettering off, because there will be metal shavings!!

4. Almost done!! After those steps it comes time to wash it!! My hole was to small for my straw, so I had to make it a tad larger! After that, though, all it needs is your straw and some your favorite beverage!!

dsc01642

 

 

6 thoughts on “Homemade Mason Jar Cups

Leave a Reply

