DIY Dry Shampoo

Hello to my wonderful followers and all those who may be reading! This DIY is a little different from the rest that I have done previously. This one is a dry shampoo, so I guess you can say I am adventuring into the world of beauty! I have always enjoyed making homemade beauty products. Here are few different reasons why I and you can enjoy making your own beauty products:

  • You know what is going into the products you use on your body

  • You can eliminate the use of toxic ingredients found in most commercial brands

  • It can be much cheaper than purchasing a similar product

  • You can take pride in knowing that you made the products you are using!

  • It’s SUPER fun!!

I am sure EVERY person, especially ladies, have been in a situation similar to this: You need to wash your hair but, you have absolutely no time and your hair is starting to get on the greasy side. AHHHH!! The dilemma! You want your hair to look good, but your schedule is not on your side. We ALL have been there! This DIY will definitely be a good, time-saving hack just for you!

This DIY dry-shampoo is a wonderful way to make your hair not appear greasy, until you have the chance to wash it. It is super simple to make and I am sure all of the 2 ingredients can be found in your pantry! BUT, even if they’re not, they are super cheap!!

Here we go!!

What ya’ need:

  • 3 tablespoons of baking soda

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of cornstarch (preferably Non-GMO!)

  • If you have dark hair you can add either cinnamon or unsweetened cocoa powder

THAT’S IT!!

Now for the hard part…

  • Mix all of the ingredients well and store in a container

I know, I know…..not hard at all πŸ˜‰

I used an empty, cleaned out glass spice container, I LOVE that is has holes, so I can just sprinkle it up on my head!!

Using this product:

Sprinkle mixture onto scalp and hair roots. Massage and work it in with your fingertips, then comb/brush through.

BA BAM!! Non-greasy hair that is still flexible and flowy!!Β 

Β 

**Make sure you do not replace this with actually washing your hair!! This is a good, temporary solution to greasy hair, but it is NOT a permanent alternative!!

Β 

Let me know if you try this DIY and please be sure to tell me how you like it!

 

LOGO

(I FINALLY made a signature!! How do you like it?)

 

16 thoughts on “DIY Dry Shampoo

  1. Thank you! I am always looking for a good dry shampoo. The best one I have tried so far was Suave, but it is hard to find (I live in a remote area). I can only find a more expensive brand, which I tried, but you have to use a ton of it for it to work. It lasted only a month versus the year my can of Suave lasted! I just found Herbal Essance Dry Shampoo and it isn’t bad. It leaves my hair a little stiff as if I used hairspray. Fine, but not ideal.
    I’ll have my daughter make your recipe for me. She’s 12 and she loves DIY beauty. This I can say “yes” to, it doesn’t look messy! Thanks again for the tip!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. This dry shampoo sounds ridiculously easy and also very necessary to have on hand!!! I totally need to make some for myself! Thanks for sharing it with us πŸ™‚ I love your new signature! It’s so cute and the colors look great together. I just started using my own signature, which a blogging friend kindly made for me. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

